On Work-Life Balance

Work-life balance has become an illusion, much like my belief that I am a hunk. (Photo by Kriss Szkurlatowski, http://www.12frames.eu)

By Anthony O. Alcantara

This is a conundrum to me. I don’t know how many people still believe this.

Could there be such a thing as work-life balance?

Balance implies equilibrium. It implies equal proportions, stability through even distribution of something.

So does work-life balance mean 50 percent work and 50 percent life? That means I’d have to work 12 hours a day, and spend the rest on having a good time with my family, doing my hobbies, or sunbathing at the beach with a piña colada.

Oh no! How about sleep? That’s eight hours. Where do I classify that? Under work or under life? Or both?

Tada. I present to you the perfect executive. He’s got a four-digit IQ, dresses well, and has a beautiful and loving wife and super achiever kids. But he spends at least 90 hours a week at the office because he is the president and CEO of a big company.

Does he have work-life balance? How about P-Noy? He says he doesn’t have time for his love life.

Or how about the artist who spends his time almost exclusively at his studio and rarely spends time with friends and family. And yet, he produces some of the greatest works of art in the world, and is considered a genius.

Does he have that so-called work-life balance?

It sounds silly to me. Should it be work-life combination instead? Or work-life mix? It doesn’t sound sexy, but it’s more accurate to me.

I guess the important thing is that we spend time on the things we determine are important to us.

Are you doing what’s important to you right now?

#

Leave a Reply

